Vicki Award Recipient List

Deborah Taj Anapol (2010) was a pioneer of relationship diversity who advocated on behalf of polyamory as a healthy relationship option.  She co-founded Loving More magazine (now a polyamory-education nonprofit and organizer of annual Poly Living conferences) and in 1992 published one of the first books on polyamory, Love Without Limits.  Deborah passed away unexpectedly in 2015.

Married couple Bina Aspen and Martine Rothblatt (2010) are transhumanism activists who remained committed even after Martine, born Martin, underwent sexual reassignment surgery in 1994.  Founder of Sirius satellite radio, Martine was the highest paid female executive in America in 2013 with total earnings of $38 million.

Ajamu Baraka (2011) is a founder of the US Human Rights Network, a coalition of more than 30 human rights organizations committed to applying international human rights standards to government processes and laws in the United States.  Internationally recognized as a leader in America’s emerging human rights movement, Baraka was honored by United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan in 1998 as one of 300 notable human rights defenders from around the world.

Nobel Peace Prize nominee Mandy Carter (2013) is one of the nation’s leading African American lesbian activists.  Carter has a 45-year history of social, racial, and lesbigaytrans justice organizing.  She helped co-found two groundbreaking organizations: Southerners On New Ground (SONG) and the National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC).

Heather Corinna (2013) is the founder of, the inclusive and progressive online resource for teen and young adult sexuality and information that launched in 1998.  An author, educator, and activist, Heather is considered one of the pioneers of positive human sexuality on the internet.

First Amendment attorney Robert (Bob) Corn-Revere (2011) is an aggressive advocate for freedom of sexual speech and expression.  Having challenged the FCC’s indecency rules, mandatory content filtering of public library Internet filters, and the Telecommunication Act’s restrictions of programming on sexually explicit cable networks, his experience in First Amendment media, communications, and information technology law are widespread and of note.

Author of more than a half dozen titles, John D’Emilio (2015) is a pioneer in the field of gay and lesbian studies and the history of sexuality.  Intimate Matters: A History of Sexuality in America, co-authored with Estelle Freedman, was quoted by Supreme Court Associate Justice Anthony Kennedy in the 2003 Lawrence v. Texas case, the historic decision that declared state sodomy statutes unconstitutional.  D’Emilio served as Director of the Policy Institute at the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force from 1995 to 1997.

Matt Foreman (2013) has led efforts within the LGBT rights movement for more than 25 years.  His advocacy includes work as Executive Director of the NYC Gay and Lesbian Anti-Violence Project, the Empire State Pride Agenda (the nation’s then-largest statewide LGBT political advocacy organization), and the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force (America’s oldest and second-largest national LGBT rights organization).

Amber Hollibaugh (2012) is a longtime human rights defender, civil rights activist, and social justice champion whose efforts span film, publishing, and politics.  Co-founder of the San Francisco Lesbian and Gay History Project, Amber has spent decades defending desire and femme identity as an integral part of her political vision.  She currently serves as the Co-Executive Director of Queers for Economic Justice.

Jeffrey Montgomery (2012) is recognized as one of the most heroic leaders in the movement for LGBT equality, having spoken out against discrimination, violence, and injustice for decades.  Founder of The Triangle Foundation and a founding board member of the Woodhull Freedom Foundation, Jeffrey has helped steer our organization toward fulfillment of its mission and vision: A world where sexual freedom is recognized as a fundamental human right.

LGBT activist and blogger Kushaba “Moses” Mworenko (2010) sought asylum in the United States from his native Uganda amidst persecution resulting from Uganda’s Anti-Homosexuality Act (previously known as the Kill the Gays bill).  Today, he works to raise awareness of international homophobia and related persecution, and calls for an end to laws throughout the world that target people who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender.

Dr. Esther Perel (2012) is an internationally renowned psychotherapist, sexual freedom advocate, and author of books including Mating in Captivity: Unlocking Erotic Intelligence.  The title won the 2009 Consumer Book Award from the Society for Sex Therapy and Research, going on to become a global phenomenon translated into 25 languages.  Fluent in nine of them, Dr. Perel is a licensed marriage and family therapist and an acknowledged authority on cross-cultural relations, couples and sexuality, erotic intelligence, and ethnic and religious intermarriage.

Carol Queen (2014) is an American author, editor, sociologist, and sexologist with a doctorate in sexology.  Founder of GAYYouth, one of the first gay youth groups in the country, Carol has been active for decades in the sex-positive feminism movement.  She is the founding director of the Center for Sex & Culture in San Francisco.  Since 1990, Queen has served as Staff Sexologist at Good Vibrations, the women-owned, worker-owned sex toy and book emporium.

Diego Miguel Sanchez (2015) is the Director of Policy for PFLAG National, sharing PFLAG’s vision of a world where diversity is celebrated, and where all people are respected, valued, and affirmed inclusive of their sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression.  As Senior Policy Advisor to Congressman Barney Frank, Diego made history as the first openly transgender person to work as a senior legislative staff member on Capitol Hill, and also the first openly trans person ever appointed to the DNC Platform Committee.

Cory Silverberg (2014) has developed and facilitated workshops for hundreds of agencies and organizations across North America on topics spanning sexuality and disability, sexual pleasure, sexual communication, sex toys, and sex and technology.  Cory has also delivered keynotes, lectures, and interactive public talks for professional conferences and student groups.

Monica Raye Simpson (2015) was named a new civil rights leader by Essence magazine, and has organized extensively against human rights violations, the prison industrial complex, racism and intolerance, and the systematic physical and emotional violence inflicted upon African American women and the African American LBGT community – particularly in the American South.

Pam Spaulding (2014) considers herself an accidental activist.  The founder, editor, and publisher of Pam’s House Blend, a startlingly honest and astute blog focused on the LGBT community, Pam has guest posted and contributed to Americablog, Pandagon, Firedoglake, The Rude Pundit,, The Bilerico Project, and Glenn Greenwald’s Unclaimed Territory on Salon, and has written for The Independent Weekly.

Carmen Vazquez (2011) is a seasoned activist and incisive movement leader in causes ranging from immigrant rights to lesbian health.  Vazquez has held significant positions in many of the most influential activist and advocacy organizations in California and New York, including Director of Public Policy for the New York City GLBT Center and Deputy Director of the Empire State Pride Agenda. She is currently Coordinator of the LGBT Health and Human Services Unit of the AIDS Institute, New York Department of Health.

Sexual rights activist Susan Wright (2010) led a small group of SM/leather/fetish activists in the 1997 formation of the National Coalition for Sexual Freedom. She continues to spearhead its media relations.

Vicki's 2013
Vicki Sexual Freedom Award Ceremony 2013