Skip to content

Legendary Sexual Freedom Advocates to be Honored for Dedication to Establishing Sexual Freedom as a Fundamental Human Right

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE — July 12, 2012 — Washington, DC

Amber Hollibaugh, Jeffrey Montgomery and Esther Perel
To Be Honored

The Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance is pleased to announce the 2012 recipients of the Vicki Sexual Freedom Award.  The Vicki Sexual Freedom Awards recognize individuals who have made landmark contributions to the sexual freedom movement. This year Woodhull is proud to honor three heroes of the movement, Amber Hollibaugh, Jeffrey Montgomery and Esther Perel.

Amber Hollibaughis a long-time human rights defender, civil rights activist and social justice champion.  Amber has spent decades defending desire and femme identity as an integral part of her political vision.  She is currently serving as the Co-Executive Director of Queers for Economic Justice.

Jeffrey Montgomery is recognized as one of the most heroic leaders in the movement for LGBT equality, speaking out against discrimination, violence and injustice for decades, both as the founder of The Triangle Foundation and as a founding board member of the Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance, helping to steer our organization toward fulfillment of our mission and our vision of a world where sexual freedom is actually recognized as a fundamental human right

Internationally renowned author, advocate and voice for personal sexual freedom, Esther Perel, is the author of: “Mating in Captivity: Unlocking Erotic Intelligence.”  This bold, provocative new take on Intimacy and sex won the 2009 book award from the Society for Sex Therapy and Research and has become a global phenomenon translated into 25 languages.  Fluent in nine of them, Esther is a licensed marriage and family therapist and an acknowledged authority on (wartime, post-war, and refugee families;) cross-cultural relations;couples and sexuality, erotic intelligence; (and ethnic and religious intermarriage). Dr. Perel has led private and public interventions around the world.

“This year we honor these three outstanding leaders and courageous activists,” said Ricci Levy, Executive Director of the Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance. “As we have watched the sexual freedom movement grow and take hold, the names of our three honorees are often found in the roll book of those who have made a difference.  We are honored to recognize their work.”

The awards will be presented at a gala event during Woodhull’s Sexual Freedom Summit.  The presentations will follow a series of educational forums during the day and the release of the 2012 State of Sexual Freedom in the United States Report, an annual assessment of the progress and setbacks in the effort to establish sexual freedom as a fundamental human right. The Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance and the Vicki Award recipients are committed to advancing that cause.  These events will take place September 21 – 23 2012.

The Vicki Sexual Freedom Award, established in 2010, recognizes those individuals whose life and work embody the mission and values of the Alliance and who have made landmark contributions to the sexual freedom movement.  The award is named after Victoria Woodhull, the namesake of the Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance. Ms. Woodhull was an American suffragist born on September 23, 1838, who was described by Gilded Age newspapers as a leader of the American women’s suffrage movement in the 19th century. She became a colorful and notorious symbol for women’s rights, free love, and spiritualism as she fought against corruption and for labor reforms.

For further information about Woodhull’s Sexual Freedom Summit, the State of Sexual Freedom Report and Sexual Freedom Day, or to reserve tickets to the event, go to


Media Contact

Ricci Levy
President & CEO
[email protected]

Sex Work
LGBTQ Sex Workers
Back To Top